NCFE Interactive Media

What is this subject and why should I study it?

In Year 10 students move on to study the level 2 Technical Award in Interactive Media. Interactive media is the integration of digital media including combinations of electronic text, graphics, moving images and sound into a structured digital computerised environment that allows people to interact with the data for appropriate purposes.

Course Content:

Unit 01

Learners will experiment with interactive media products and understand the elements of the development process using hardware and software solutions. The learner must know about the features of interactive media products, the target audiences of interactive media products, the sources, processes and techniques needed for the development of an interactive media product and health and safety issues related to computer use.

Unit 02

In this unit learners will understand how to produce a proposal to meet a brief. They will learn about ideas development, audience/end-user, technical aspects, design aspects and content.

Unit 03

Learners will understand how to use appropriate software and hardware for the development and creation of an interactive media product and its assets. The learner will know about directory/folder structures, file types and exporting options, hardware solutions, software solutions and needs of different audiences.

Unit 04

Learners will present and promote an interactive media product in the creative media industry. Learners will learn about types of client and their needs, types of job opportunities in the interactive media industry, methods of presenting an interactive media product and also methods of promoting your own skills.

How is the course assessed?

The assessment for the Level 2 Technical Award in Interactive Media consists of 2 types of assessment:

  • internal assessment – portfolio of evidence. This will be graded by centre staff and externally quality assured by NCFE
  • external assessment – practical exam. This will be graded by NCFE. This will assess the application of knowledge and skills acquired from Units 01–04 of the qualification.

The external assessment accounts for 40% of the final grade in order to meet the requirements of a Technical Award. The external assessment components are set and marked by NCFE. The four mandatory units make up the remainder for the grade.