Information Technology Cambridge Technical


Cambridge Technical in IT provides a high-quality alternative to A Levels. The Cambridge Technical provides a strong basis for progression to University, Apprenticeships or work and is recognised by universities for UCAS tariff points.

The Cambridge Technical in IT has been developed to meet the changing needs of the IT sector and prepare students for the challenges they will face in Higher Education or employment. Designed in collaboration with experts spanning the breadth of the sector such as Sheffield International Venues (SIV), The University of Sheffield, Sheffield Hallam University, and local IT businesses, the Cambridge Technical in IT focuses on the skills, knowledge and understanding that today’s universities and employers demand. Students will practically apply their skills and knowledge in preparation for further study or the workplace.

Employer Links 

Our leading employers in the IT and Computing sectors are offering exciting professional employer projects in Virtual and Augmented Reality, the Internet of Everything, Big Data Analytics, Games Design and Mobile Technology

Vendor Qualifications

We will also be offering vendor qualifications from Cisco, Paolo Alto and Microsoft in addition to the main technical.  These include:

Paolo Alto Cyber Security Academy

Cisco Networking Academy

Microsoft Technology Associate

Qufaro Cyber EPQ

Some students will also have the opportunity to study for a Cyber EPQ.  The CyberEPQ is the UK’s first and only Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) in Cyber Security. This unique Cyber Security qualification has been developed by a consortium of education and Cyber Security partners to help provide a starting point for anyone considering a career in Cyber Security; to go to university, start an apprenticeship or change career.

The Cyber EPQ qualification is delivered online using distance learning tools with its content guided by the National Occupational Standards (NOS), and aligned with the Chartered Institute of Information Security (CIISec) and the Cyber Security Body of Knowledge (CyBOK) Skills and Knowledge Framework.

The EPQ is a Level 3 qualification, accredited by City & Guilds, worth up to an extra 28 UCAS points. The course is delivered using a distance learning platform (the Moodle) and can be studied through your school or independently. School Learners are supervised by their teachers and Independent Learners will have a supervisor assigned to them.


Mandatory Units

  • Fundamentals of IT
  • Global information
  • Cyber Security

Diploma (2 A Level equivalent)  choose either Pathway A or Pathway B

Pathway A:  Application Development

Unit 6 – Application Design

Unit 8 – Project Management

Unit 9 – Product Development

Unit 12 – Mobile Technology

Unit 13 – Social Media and digital marketing

Unit 14 – Software engineering for Business

Unit 15 – Games design and Prototyping

Unit 17 – Internet of Things

Pathway B: Emerging Digital Technology Practitioner

Unit 5 – Virtual and Augmented Reality

Unit 8 – Project Management

Unit 9 – Product Development

Unit 12 – Mobile Technology

Unit 13 – Social Media and digital marketing

Unit 16 – Developing a smarter planet

Unit 17 – Internet of Things

Unit 19 – Computer Systems – software

More details can be found here:

Entry requirements

Grade 4 at GCSE in English and Maths and grade 4 in three other subjects